CHEER and Union of European Neonatal and Perinatal Societies (UENPS) have collaborated on a multi-national study to assess breastfeeding-supportive hospital practices in European hospitals during the COVID-19 pandemic. Check out the new open access publication here.

View Publication

CHEER Director, Dr. Anne Merewood, and her colleagues – Drs. Lars Bode, Riccardo Davanzo, and Rafael Perez-Escamilla- share their thoughts on England’s initial recommendation not to vaccinate lactating women in this recent publication from The Lancet.

READ MORE

CHEER created a narrated PowerPoint presentation sharing evidence and guidelines about mask wearing as a preventive measure for COVID-19. Click on the image below to view the narrated presentation.

Read More

VIEW SERIES FLYER (SUMMER SERIES I)

VIEW PAST SERIES FLYER (APRIL 22-JUNE 3 WEBINARS)

The CHAMPS Team held a series of COVID-19 focused webinars.
​View and download past webinars in the series under the “
Past Webinars” heading on our webinars page by clicking HERE.

FULL SERIES FLYER

This week’s segment features Tawanda Logan-Hurt, CHAMPS MS Delta Community & Hospital Consultant and MSDH Breastfeeding Coordinator, describing how Mississippi WIC has adapted to provide care and support to mothers and newborns during COVID-19: https://youtu.be/FaW8kndQgCg

Watch the full webinar here! https://youtu.be/SrzAcmvbQYI

PAST SPOTLIGHTS

Read More

CHEER Newsletters are a medium for sharing COVID-19 related information, resources, CHAMPS activities in a simple digestible and usable format to our institutional and community partners. The CHEER Newsletters are part of our COVID-19 response efforts.

LINKS TO CHEER NEWSLETTERS

Thursday, 06/10/2021 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 34)
Thursday, 05/13/2021 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 33)
Thursday, 04/08/2021- CHEER Newsletter (Issue 32)
Thursday, 03/11/2021 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 31)
Thursday, 02/11/2021 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 30)
Thursday, 01/14/2021 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 29)
Thursday, 12/17/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 28)
Thursday, 12/10/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 27)
Thursday, 12/03/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 26)
Thursday, 11/19/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 25)
Thursday, 11/12/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 24)
Thursday, 11/05/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 23)
Thursday, 10/29/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 22)
Thursday, 10/22/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 21)
Thursday, 10/15/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 20)
Thursday, 10/08/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 19)
Thursday, 10/01/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 18)
Thursday, 09/24/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 17)
Thursday, 09/17/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (AI/AN Edition)
Thursday, 09/10/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 15)
Thursday, 09/03/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 14)
Thursday, 08/27/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 13)
Thursday, 08/20/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 12)
Thursday, 08/13/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 11)
Thursday, 08/06/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 10)
Thursday, 07/30/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 09)
Thursday, 07/23/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 08)
Thursday, 07/16/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 07)
Thursday, 07/09/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 06)
Thursday, 07/02/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 05)
Thursday, 06/25/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 04)
Thursday, 06/19/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 03)
Thursday, 06/11/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 02)
Thursday, 06/04/2020 – CHEER Newsletter (Issue 01)

Read More

This resource from our sister organization, CHEERing, provides information for breastfeeding and nursing mothers who may intend to fast during the month of Ramadan. The English version of the presentation is available ​here.

DOWNLOAD PDF

Rooming in means mothers and infants staying together in the hospital. This is one of the Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding. Also, when large scale infections like COVID-19 are in the air, the safest place for the healthy baby is the mother’s room in the hospital. This prevents babies from being exposed to other babies by sharing a common nursery space or spending time being pushed around the hospital corridors.

DOWNLOAD POSTER

In light of the ongoing novel coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 pandemic, CHAMPS has postponed in person hospital visits, mock assessments, and trainings. We urge everyone to continue to promote and ensure breastfeeding and rooming in per CDC guidelines. Please click on the button below for more information and resources.

Read More